Press Enter to skip to main content,
or keep pressing Tab key no navigate
TSU-logo COSET-logo

Mathematics Majors Receive Awards

Two mathematics majors, Shaneria Beans and Batrice Thomas were recently awarded the TAYLOR/HAMP Award and designated as HAMP SCHOLARS for their research efforts under Professor W. E. Taylor. The award included a certificate and $500 in cash. The research carried out by the students included a study of modified tent maps. This topic includes iteration of piecewise linear maps and this is a part of discrete dynamical systems theory.

The HAMP designation stands for “High Achievement in Mathematics is Possible”. Professor Taylor created this award to encourage undergraduate research in mathematics.