Press Enter to skip to main content,
or keep pressing Tab key no navigate
TSU-logo COSET-logo

Conference: Invitation to Mathematics

Location: SB156 (Science Building), Texas Southern University
             Registration              Abstract         Schedule      Campus Map    Parking   Direction
The department of Mathematics at the Texas Southern University will hold a conference on 9/22/2018-9/23/2018 with a tentative title ‘Invitation to Mathematics’
Goals of the conference are 
  • introduce undergraduates to the research  world in mathematics;
  • encourage students from underrepresented minority group to pursue Ph.D program in Mathematics and Mathematical Sciences; 
  •  show possible career paths with a math degree; and 
  •  provide an opportunity for undergraduates and graduates from underrepresented minority group to interact with peers from other institutions.

The conference will consist of a list of research talks, a poster session, a panel discussion session that with a focus on addressing possible career paths with a math degree.

Invited Speakers and panelists:

Illya V. Hicks (Rice University)

Folefac Atem (University of Texas)

Jianzhong Su (University of Texas at Arlington)

Christina Eubanks-Turner (Loyola Marymount University)

Talitha Washington (Howard University)

Ken W. Smith (Sam Houston State University)

Mark Tomforde (University of Houston)

Natalia Hritonenko (Prairie View A&M)

Panelists from Industry:

Pamela Denkins (NASA)

Paulette N. Willis (Kumon)

Application for Travel support. We have secured a limited amount of NSF fund to support graduate and undergraduate students’ travel expense. If you are interested, please submit the following items when you register for the conference: (1) CV (2 pages max); (2) One recommendation letter.

Registration. There is no registration fee. Since we will provide food throughout the conference, in order to have a good estimation of the amount of food we need provide, we require you to register if you plan to attend the conference. For those of you apply for travel support, you need to upload the required documents during registration.

Schedule. You can find schedule here.


Azime S. Saydam (chair)

Roderick Holmes(co-chair)

Yunjiao Wang (co-chair)

Nancy Glenn Grisinger

Willie Taylor

Ilia Jegdic

Robert Nehs

Victor Obot

Jahmario Williams

Demetrios Kazakos

Tong Wu

Maurice Ekwo

Joan Evans

Cher Crockett

Jing Guo

Travare Papa

Student organizers: Erika Martinez, Jaida Rice, Faith Grice, Susan Gonzales, Alberto Zepeda

Acknowledgements: The conference is supported by NSF.